It is not uncommon to see drivers with their noses glued to their phones while they are driving down the roadway. While many people do not think twice about quickly checking their phone, the reality is that this type of behavior can lead to severe accidents. At Colson Hicks Eidson, our attorneys have vast experience helping those injured in a wide variety of car accident cases. The goal of our Miami texting and driving accident attorneys is to secure full compensation for victims injured in these cases.
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles says that there were more than 400,000 total vehicle crashes during the latest reporting year across the state. Data also indicates that distracted driving was responsible for the following during that same year:
Texting and driving crashes can lead to severe injuries for those involved. It is not uncommon for the attorneys at Colson Hicks Eidson to help clients who have sustained the following in these incidents:
Florida operates under a “no-fault” insurance system, which means that drivers will turn to their personal auto insurance carriers for coverage after an accident, regardless of which party causes the incident. However, it is still important to determine liability in these cases, particularly if the injuries rise above certain thresholds to allow for a claim against the at-fault driver’s insurance carrier.
A skilled Miami texting and driving accident attorney will have the resources necessary to obtain any evidence needed to prove liability, including video or photo surveillance of the incident, statements from eyewitnesses, statements from other drivers or passengers, accident reports, and more.
It is against the law for drivers in Florida to send or receive text messages while their vehicle is moving. This is considered a primary offense, meaning a police officer can stop a person solely based on the reasonable suspicion that the driver is texting and driving. A first offense of texting and driving is punishable by a $30 fine and court fees. A second offense carries a $60.00 fine, court fees, as well as three “points” against a person’s driver’s license.
If you or somebody you love has been injured in an accident caused by a driver who was texting at the time of the crash, seek legal assistance immediately. At Colson Hicks Eidson, we will not hesitate to use the resources of our firm to conduct a complete investigation into the incident and secure the following compensation for our clients: